>write a novel in a month – yee haw!

>I am sure some of you dream of writing a novel but have not found the gumption to do so. Well, here’s something of interest: the National Novel Writing Month, or NaNoWriMo. The idea is that one commits to writing an entire novel in one month. According to the rules that’s 50,000 words in 30 days, or about 1,667 words per day (if my math is correct). It launches November 1st.

I know folks who have done this and they loved it. Some finished their novels, some didn’t get that far, but all loved the process and the kick in the butt that NaNoWriMo is all about.

There is also a scriptwriting version called Script Frenzy. Now Script Frenzy already happened for 2007, but it is supposed to be an annual thing, so keep an eye out for that one next year.

I would love to know if anyone is going to do this. I am in the middle of my thesis for grad school, so I have to focus on that, but if I can get it done in time, which is unlikely, then I just might do NaNoWriMo too.

2 thoughts on “>write a novel in a month – yee haw!

  1. >I know someone who’s done it the past couple of years, and will be doing it again this year.I’ll be done with my own schoolin’ early next summer; NaNoWriMo for me will have to wait until 2008. But it is a goal of mine, then.

  2. >Brian, I am with you there. Although my schooling should be done a bit sooner than yours, I will likely miss this year’s NaNoWriMo, which I told myself last year I would do. Oh well.

Leave a comment